PMOH-IRAS - JHLC - Jerusalem - News - November 2014
Exhibition "Russian presence in the Holy Land" in Jerusalem
November 10, 2014 at 18:00 in Jerusalem, at the Cultural Center "Harmony" (27 Hillel St.), an exhibition of photographs "Russian presence in the Holy Land."will be opened.
Organizers: Foundation for the name of St. Georg the Theologian, Russian Ecclesiastical Mission in Jerusalem, Moscow Patriarchate and the State Museum of the History of Religion.
The exhibition is organized with the support of the Department for External Church Relations of the Moscow Patriarchate Publishing of the Moscow Patriarchate of the Russian Orthodox Church, the Imperial Orthodox Palestine Society, Elisabeth Sergius educational society, "Gazprom dobycha Urengoy" studio "Click".
The opening ceremony will be attended by the acting Head of the Russian Ecclesiastical Mission in Jerusalem Hegumen Theophan (Lukyanov); chief editor of the Moscow Patriarchate Archpriest Vladimir ??police, deputy executive director of the Foundation named after St. Georg the Theologian Igor Lapshin, Director of the State Museum of the History of Religion Lubov Musienko, Head of Rossotrudnichestvo in Israel,Natalia Yakymchuk , Head of Rossotrudnichestvo in Palestine, Sergey Shapovalov, and spokesman for the Imperial Orthodox Palestine Society Israel, Pavel Platonov.
The exhibition marks the 150th anniversary of the Grand Duchess Elizabeth Feodorovna, who in 1905 was appointed chairman of the Imperial Orthodox Palestine Society and largely contributed to the Orthodox pilgrimage to the Holy Land, was engaged in spiritual enlightenment of the inhabitants of Palestine.
The exhibition was prepared on the basis of photographs from the archives of 1885-1917 years of the Imperial Orthodox Palestine Society, which is stored in the collections of the State Museum of the History of Religion. The Photographs allow visitors to meet with the leaders of the society and the Russian Ecclesiastical Mission in Jerusalem, to see Russian places in Palestine, to view the image of Russian pilgrims to Jerusalem and carried away in the last century.
The exhibition is open to visitors from 10 to 23 November 2014 every day except Fridays and Saturdays, from 12:00 to 17:00.